KwaZulu Natal Borders G.T.


It will be recalled that the jurisdiction of the NORTHERN GRAND TEMPLE that was established on the 25th of September 1904, covered an extensive area covering the Orange Free State, Transvaal, Swaziland, Natal, Griqualand West and Bechuanaland. In 1921, the statistics showed that the Northern Grand Temple had 212 Sub-ordinate Temples with a membership of 11 000. These figures were a part of the motivation that a peaceful division of this massive Grand Temple was a dire need. There were no adequate accommodations in many parts of the jurisdictions to take Grand Sessions and other large meetings of the Order. An application to the Right Worthy Temple was made requesting a formal division of the Northern Grand Temple.

In the Klersksdorp Grand Session of the Northern Grand Temple held on the 13th of January 1942, the division was effected by the Deputy Right Worthy Templar, Bro Rev J.B. Mabona. He was further commissioned to open and dedicate the new Grand Temple named the TRANSVAAL BORDERS GRAND TEMPLE. The date of that blessing occasion was December 30th of 1943 at Dukathole Township in Germiston.  The area of Jurisdiction covered in the Transvaal, the whole of the East Rand, Highveld, South Eastern Transvaal, Northern Part of the Transvaal, Swaziland and Natal.

107 Sub-Temples constituted this new Grand Temple with a membership of 7438 accompanied by 68 Bands of Hope with a membership of 8799


The work of IOTT grew rapidly in Durban, Umlazi, KwaMashu, Chesterville, Ndulinde, Amanzimtoti, Ndwedwe, Ingwavuma, Empangeni, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Sobantu, Dannhauser, Jobstown, Eshowe, Blaauwbosch and Groutville. Work was established and stability was maintained in Natal, Sub-Temples increased. By year 1956, the number of Sub-Temples had grown to twenty-eight (28). Many members desired to attend the annual Grand Sessions that were mainly held in the Transvaal but could not afford because of the problem of accommodation at the venues and also because of the problem of travelling and food provision.

The issue of separation became urgent and needed immediate attention. In the Benoni Grand Session of 1955 it was agreed that in principle that NATAL be separated from the TRANSVAAL BORDERS GRAND TEMPLE. Further, it was agree that the final decision be taken in the Grand Session of 1956.

The Nelspruit Grand Session of 1956 in December, unanimously consented that NATAL BORDERS be allowed to form their own Grand Temple. The Right Worthy Temple did not hesitate to bless this move. In 1957, the Grand Session of the Transvaal Borders Grand Temple, which was the last with Natal, was very vital. The NATAL BORDERS GRAND TEMPLE was born in SOBANTU VILLAGE COMMUNITY HALL in the town on Pietermaritzburg, in December 29, 1957. The KZN Borders Grand Temple at that moment registered 28 Sub-Temples.

The First Grand True Executive were as follows:

  1. G.T.T – Bro Rev M.B.G. Nomvete
  2. G.T.C – Bro M.E. Kambule
  3. G.T.V.T – Bro Rev J.C. Gwambe
  4. G.T.S. – Bro Rev E.D.J. Mkentane
  5. D.R.W.T – Bro Rev J.H. Msimang
  6. G.T.Treas – Bro Rev J.H. Msimang
  7. G.T.S.J.W – Sis D.E. Nyawo
  8. G.T.Chap – Bro Rev R.Z. Ngcobo
  9. P.G.T.T – Bro Z. Mhlongo
  10. G.T.M – Bro E.Z. Yeni
  11. G.T.V.S – Sis C. Khathi
  12. G.T.Mess – Bro A. Ngcobo
  13. G.T.A.Sec – Bro Rev D.L. Myeza
  14. G.T.A.S.J.W – Sis Nomvete
  15. G.T.A.M – Sis E.P. Vilakazi
  16. G.T.I.G – Sis A. Mbatha
  17. G.T.O.G – Bro E.G. Mhlahlo

The following was agreed to:-

  • Transvaal Borders Grand Temple would give assistance when called upon to do so.
  • The two Grand Temple should meet (as Joint Grand Sessions) from time to time

The last Joint Session was held on the 18th to 22nd of December 2019, in St Francis College in Marianhill, Durban.

Boundaries of the Natal Borders Grand Temple would be the whole area of Natal and KwaZulu Land now known as KwaZulu Natal Province.

The 1958 Grand Session held at Groutville marked the beginning of a new Era for the KZN Borders Grand Temple (which was know as Natal Borders Grand Temple that time), this was our first Grand Session.

Brother Rev A.M. Mkhwanazi, during his tenure as Grand True Templar kept the fire burning and it is recorded that during his leadership, the name of the Grand Temple, in line with the name of the Province, was changed from Natal Borders to KWA-ZULU NATAL BORDERS GRAND TEMPLE in the year 2008.

The first LADY G.T.T, Sir M.P. Mthethwa was elected in 2011, following in the footsteps of the Great Fathers who laid the foundation of this Grand Temple. In her programme, she made it clear that she intended to work with Non-Governmental Organisations and as well as Government institutions dealing with the abuse of intoxicating substances. Schools were also targeted. Prayers and counselling would be employed.

Since the establishment of this Grand Temple, KZN Borders G.T has shown signs of stability, maturity and courage through faith in Christ. In 2019, this Grand Temple has registered 50 Sub-Temples.

The 62nd Annual Grand Session of the KwaZulu Natal Borders seated in Marianhill, Durban from the 18th to the 22nd of December 2019 elected the following to be part of the Grand True Executive Committee:-

  1. G.T.T (Elect)       : Bro Sipho Ngidi
  2. D.R.W.T (Elect)  : Bro Solomon Hadebe
  3. G.T.C                     : Bro Mike Khumalo
  4. G.T.S                     : Bro Mlungisi Jama
  5. G.T.Chap : Sr Noziphiwo Gcumisa
  6. G.T.S.J.W             : Sr Thandazile Mbanjwa
  7. G.T.V.T                 : Sr Evelen Mhlongo
  8. G.T.Treas             : Sr Nelly Roman
  9. G.T.V.S                 : Sr Hlengiwe Mchunu
  10. G.T.M                   : Bro Mkhokheli Sdamba
  11. G.T.S.C.S              : Sr Ayanda Tsolekile
  12. G.T.S.Y.W            : Bro Mbusi Mnyandu
  13. G.T.I.G                  : Sr Philisiwe Maluleka
  14. G.T.O.G                : Sr Nosipho Mbhele
  15. G.T.R.S                 : Sr Phumelele Mndebele
  16. G.T.A.S                 : Sr Jabu Sikhosana
  17. G.T.A.V.S             : Sr Sihle Khonjelwayo
  18. G.T.A.Treas        : Sr Ellen Mathenjwa
  19. G.T.A.S.J.W        : Sr Zinhle Ntuli
  20. G.T.A.S.Y.W        : Sr Sindi Nhlapho
  21. G.T.A.S.C.S         : Sr Nompumelelo Shabangu
  22. G.T.A.M               :
  23. G.T.Mess             : Bro Silindele Ngcobo
Bro S Ngidi - G.T.T.
G.T.T Brother Sipho Ngidi

For more info

Grand True Strategic and Communications Secretary

Sr Ayanda Tsolekile

email –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Postal Address

Email Address:

Contact No

Stay Informed about Covid-19
Recent Posts